Lightened Up Coconut Watermelon Salad

20140330-133526.jpg

I found this recipe in the Food Network magazine a year ago, and have been dying to try it ever since then. I finally bought all the ingredients and made my own version of it today…and it was delicious!

The problem is, I have high cholesterol, so using heavy cream and condensed milk were not an option. Plus, I’m trying to do the whole clean eating thing, so I made a couple of substitutions. Here’s my version of the recipe:

Ingredients:
5 Cups Chopped Watermelon
1/3 Cup Lite Coconut Milk (I used Thai Kitchen)
Juice of 1/2 lime
1/3 Cup sweetened coconut flakes
1 packet stevia
Pinch of salt
Dash of cinnamon

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spread coconut out on a baking pan and toast in the oven for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally (I set the timer for one minute and stirred each minute until the five minutes were up). Once finished take out and let cool.

Mix the lime juice, lite coconut milk, salt, and stevia packet in a small bowl and drizzle over the watermelon. Top with toasted coconut flakes, sprinkle with cinnamon, and enjoy!

Share your favorite recipe with my by linking to it in the comments box below. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lightened Up Coconut Watermelon Salad

Leave a Reply

