Merry Christmas Wrap Up

20131226-221005.jpg

And so this this is Christmas,
And what have you done?
Another year’s (almost) over
And a new one’s just about begun!

I have to say, this year’s holiday was about one of the best ever! The only thing that could have made it better would have been to have my grandparents who are now in heaven back here with me, as well as JP’s grandmother and his father, who have also passed on and are in heaven, here with us. But I know that they are all probably watching us, and are glad to see how happy we are.

I always say that family and the relationships you have are the most important things in life, and I truly felt blessed to spend another Christmas with my loved ones.

Christmas morning started with me and JP waking up and opening our gifts. I have to say, he really went all out this year, and got me almost just what I had asked for!

20131226-221935.jpg

A pair of Mizuno Wave Riders, with a matching headband and…wait for it…sweat bands! He also gave me a bunch of my favorite socks by Under Armor (not pictured), all in neon colors. For the few those of you who already read my blog, you may have gotten the hint that I am a huge fan of the 80s. Well, hubby wanted to make sure I was sporting the decade that made us while running. And, of course, he wanted to make sure I was comfortable and warm. 🙂

20131226-222352.jpg

And, as any distance runner knows, fuel and proper nutrition are essential, which is why he bought me some Gatorade Prime Energy Chews. He must have been paying attention pretty closely, because I mentioned after my last half-marathon that I was going to have to find some new fuel…previously, I had been known to use Gu Chomps, but they are waaay too chewy in the cold weather, and take up to much energy to chew. I look forward to trying out the Gatorade Energy Chews…I tested one out, and it tasted yummy! Hopefully, it’s a little easier to masticate, too. I also got an iTunes gift card to download some more good eighties tunes for when I run.

And (drum roll, please…), JP bought both me and his mom tickets to go to the Newport Food & Wine Festival together in September. I’m so excited to spend some quality time with my mother-in-law while drinking some great cuisine and wine in what is my favorite New England town for many reasons (it’s where I went to college and where we got married, need I say more?). Insert wedding photo here.

20131226-224012.jpg

Ok, sorry about getting a little off topic! JP was really generous with his gifts, and after we were done exchanging presents, he mentioned to me how he felt guilty for getting such nice gifts when there are people who can’t afford to pay rent or a mortgage, or who can’t afford to pay for heat. One of our New Year’s resolutions this year is to try to give back to the community more.

After we exchanged gifts, I had to start preparing food that I was asked to bring to my mother’s. This included a green bean casserole, with the recipe coming straight off of the French’s onion box (mmm) and a mixed green salad with beets, goat cheese, and candied pecans. Another great recipe from Skinnytaste!

20131226-224618.jpg

I also made a Peppermint Brownie Trifle which was gluten free and low in sugar. My grandmother can’t shouldn’t have foods high in sugar, and my cousin is allergic to gluten, so I wanted to make sure I made a dessert that catered to them. I got this recipe from Dashing Dish, and just substituted the brownie mix with a gluten free one. Unfortunately, I wasn’t thinking, and didn’t take a picture of my trifle.

After all the food was prepared, we got all gussied up and headed over to my parents to enjoy a wonderful Christmas dinner, open more presents and then stuff our faces with indulge in some dessert. Since JP had bought me all the running gifts I asked for, my mom spoiled me with clothing, some
sparkly Ugg boots (shown in top photo, worn by me and my sister) and some practical gifts like a new cookware set.

And my cousin Keith, who drew my name for the Secret Santa, gave me a $50 MasterCard gift card that I will probably use to buy more running gear or help pay for a race entry fee (maybe even my first marathon!). We all had to make our designated person a gift, too, and he made me…well, I’m just going to show you a photo of what he made me, and let you take a wild guess as to what it is:

20131226-230124.jpg

After we returned home, it was after 9:00 p.m., and since I had to work the day after Christmas, I was unable to get a run in, so I just “played” with my new running shoes, watched some TV, cuddled the hounds, and went to bed. However, I got an amazing workout in on the treadmill today, while wearing my new Wave Riders! I think I’m in love!

And so I end with my running notes, and questions for you:
Ran 4 miles (“hill workout”) in 39:55
Warm up – first 2 miles at 10 mpm
For the next 2 miles, I kept swapping the incline between 2% for 2 minutes, 0% for 2 minutes, and 3% for 1 minute. I was feeling great towards the end, so I bumped up the speed of the last 1/10th of a mile to a 9:00 mile.
Lis

What was your favorite running themed Christmas present?

What is your energy block, gel, or chew of choice?

What do you think my cousin made me for Christmas?

5 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Wrap Up

  1. Megan @ Meg Go Run

    I have no clue what he made you! Is that the whole thing? I am lost! Oh hey I wear Wave Riders too, which I am sure I may have mentioned because I get VERY giddy when I find out others wear the same running shoe as me! The ones I have are really ugly right now (color wise). They’re mostly white with black and yellow accents. I got them at a discount site, so I think they get the colors no one wants! My favorite (and only) running theme gift was the foam roller my parents got me. My IT band is being a bitch right now, so I am hoping rolling it helps!

    Reply
    1. 262x2 Post author

      Not sure if you’re aware of this, but Mizuno has a forum that you can sign up for on their website, and there are certain perks to being “a member.” In December, people who belonged to the forum were given an opportunity to test the new Wave Riders (of course, I found this out after the fact)! You might want to check it out!

      Reply
  2. willrunforpizza

    Oh my gosh NO idea what he made you! Did you even know what it was at first?? My favorite running gels are Honey Stingers. I do have a couple bags of the Gu chomps in watermelon and peach, but I always go to the Honey Stingers!

    Reply
  3. 262x2 Post author

    So when I first opened my gift up, my cousin told me he wouldn’t be offended if I asked what they were. Of course, the crazy obsessed runner in me thought they were shoe laces. What do you think…do they resemble shoe laces to you at all?
    They are actually chew toys for my dogs that he and his girlfriend made. Although I’m also obsessed with my dogs, I never would have guessed chew toys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

