Christmas Eve Wrap Up

20131224-150803.jpg

Christmas Eve Workout:
Walk/Jog 2 miles with the dogs
Ran 2.5 miles in 24:42

I was hoping I’d have a minute to post my Christmas Eve wrap up (which I wrote last night and fell asleep before posting it, I was so exhausted). Yesterday sure was a hectic day! I got up early (7:30 a.m. Early, for all you runners who get up at 5:00) to take the dogs out and start baking. Our family has a secret Santa draw every year where we have to make something for our person and buy a gift.

This year, I am made my person Pumpkin Pecan Oatmeal Cookies and Chocolate Chip Banana Oatmeal Cookies, thanks to Skinnytaste. If you’re not familiar with Gina’s blog, get used to it. All of her recipes are fantastic; I use them whenever I’m cooking for friends and family, because the recipes are healthy, but nobody can tell!

But before I started making cookies, JP and I got out our ornaments and decorated the tree in my NASCAR office (see photo above). The wallpaper was left by the family who owned the house before us…if you look closely you might see some swatches on the wall…I plan on stripping the wallpaper and re-painting the room right after Christmas…

My day was full of baking and decorating, but I did manage to get some exercise in, too. After finishing my first round of Christmas cookies, I took both of the dogs for a walk so JP could use the kitchen to make fudge for his Secret Santa. I was afraid I might not have time for a workout, so I walked/jogged with the dogs for two miles. Lap 1 with Bogie consisted mostly of walking (he doesn’t usually want to do anything until we get closer to home, and then he wants to run back), but Bella was a little frisky, so I jogged a lot with her.

20131225-105933.jpg

20131225-110040.jpg

It doesn’t get much better than exercising with those two little cuties! After I returned from my second lap with Bella, I was excited to find a package from Old Navy in mailbox – Christmas came a day early for me, and some compression tights and capris I had ordered had arrived (expect some gear reviews later on this week). After opening up my early Christmas presents to myself, I finished making Christmas cookies, and then by miracle of all miracles, I managed to get a 2.5-mile run in! I was hoping it would be longer, but I’m not complaining, considering I was afraid I would miss yet another run. I knew I didn’t have much time, so I tried to get as much mileage in as possible:

Mile 1: 10 minute warm-up
Mile 2: 10 minute warm-up
Mile 2.06 – started intervals, increased mileage up to 6.2 mph
Mile 2.16 – increased mileage to 6.4 mph
Mile 2.26 – increased mileage to 6.6 mph
Mile 2.36 – increased mileage to 6.8 mph
Mile 2.46 – increased mileage to 7 mph

My goal was to get up to 7 mph before I had to check out and get ready to go to Rhode Island. Once I hit 2.5 miles I had to time out to go get ready to leave for Rhode Island, where we had lots of laughs with JP’s family.

It was a wonderful evening, and I look forward to spending more time with family on Christmas Day. Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

Leave a Reply

